05:140

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Thursday, December 8, 2005

Contact: Nghia Nguyen Demovic 916-653-6575

Secretary of State Bruce McPherson Announces Creation of Voting Accessibility Advisory Committee

Sacramento, CA --- Secretary of State Bruce McPherson announced today that he has established the Secretary of State's Voting Accessibility Advisory Committee (VAAC) and named its ten members.

"Ensuring access at the polling place for voters with disabilities is one of my top priorities as Secretary of State," said Secretary McPherson. "New federal law requires that all voters be able to vote privately and independently. I want those who understand this issue best to be among those advising me on polling place and voting systems accessibility."

The committee will meet regularly and advise the Secretary of State's Office on issues relating to access to the electoral process by voters with disabilities. Issues include access to the polling place, independent and confidential operation of voting systems and voter education for individuals with disabilities.

Secretary McPherson announced the following appointments to the Voting Accessibility Advisory Committee:

Ana Acton, Freed Center for Independent Living, Grass Valley
Ardis Bazyn, President, Bazyn Communications, Burbank
HolLynn D'lil, Accessibility Consultant, Graton
Margaret Jakobson-Johnson, Protection and Advocacy, Inc., San Diego
Tim Johnson, Tuolumne County Auditor-Clerk, Sonora
Mary Ann Jones, Executive Director, Westside Center for Independent
Living, Los Angeles
Debbie Martin, Los Angeles Assistant Registrar-Recorder, Norwalk
Shawn Casey O'Brien, Disability Rights Advocate, Santa Monica
Gail Pellerin, Santa Cruz County Clerk, Santa Cruz
Sally Pujol, Sacramento County Precinct Operations Manager, Sacramento